Contact    TexasJCMH    Powered by LawBox   

Sec. 161.253: Composition of Committee; Presiding Officer

(a) The committee is composed of:

(1) two members of the senate appointed by the lieutenant governor;

(2) two members of the house of representatives appointed by the speaker of the house of representatives; and

(3) two public members appointed by the governor.

(b) A member of the committee serves at the pleasure of the appointing official.

(c) The lieutenant governor and the speaker of the house of representatives shall appoint the presiding officer of the committee on an alternating basis. The presiding officer shall serve a two-year term expiring February 1 of each odd-numbered year.


Added by Acts 2009, 81st Leg., R.S., Ch. 318 (H.B. 610), Sec. 1, eff. September 1, 2009.